Respect is the foundation of our African culture and societies. We bend to our elders’will and power, whether we like it or not. They demand respect because of their experience and in return, they share their wisdom and most precious advice with us. At first, one might think it could be challenging for them to relate to our realities, and the very fast paced lives we live nowadays, which they would be right in their assumption. But the truth is, we, old or young, seek the very same things in life, one way or another: love, friendship, companionship, shelter, food, and happiness.

Living in the States for so long, made me slightly forget the emphasis put on respect here. Having been at my job for more than a year, I have gained more responsibilities with my seniority. One of them is to mentor the new interns. My boss gave me the daunting task of supervising a fresh out of school student. I always enjoyed teaching because I love sharing my knowledge and helping others further their dreams, just like someone took the time to help me. Additionally, our office is solely composed of young women, and it makes it all the more special for me, to mentor other women.

As a mentor, it is my responsibility and my privilege to pass on ny knowledge. In exchange, my mentee must listen, learn and perform well on their assignments. The level of respect that is confered to me by my intern, is an experience I am not used to.

For example, in the mornings, she will pick up my bag and put it away; they will ask what we want to have for lunch and go buy it if necessary ( I pay for my own food, of course) when we are done eating lunch, she or the other intern will wash the plates.

The first day when it happened, I was not at all comfortable. I am used to my own thing, because well, I have two working hands. As I shared my discomfort to one of my colleagues, she reminded me that this is not foreign behavior, since she went through the same type of mentor/mentee situation, even in college. You have your upper classmen, and it is your duty to show them the respect they deserve. A week after they arrived, I still didn’t feel comfortable letting them do those small little chores, and I still wouldn’t be. However, we found a way to reciprocate their gestures, by confering to them, the same kindness and respect they have earned. Now I or one of the colleagues will buy lunch or snacks for all of us to share, and do all the dishes after we eat lunch together.

I found out that my new position of mentor is not a dominant/submissive relationship. It is one based on mutual respect and kindness. I am a big champion of women succeeding through hard work, grit, and education, and mentoring other women is a gift, and a precious opportunity that should not be wasted. I am rewarded with their respect, their focus, and there is nothing greater in the world than sharing your knowledge with others.

Leave a comment